Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

See Also:
Total Quality Management
Theory of Constraints
Activity Based Management
Capital Structure Management
Retainage Management Collection

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award is an award for excellence in quality improvement and quality management. It sets very high standards for quality. Furthermore, firms that win the award have demonstrated excellence in the quality of systems, processes, and consumer satisfaction.
The US Congress established the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in 1987. As a result, only US firms receive Malcolm Baldrige quality awards; however, the award is recognized internationally. The US President gives the Baldrige award to the winning firms. Malcolm Baldrige was Secretary of Commerce from 1981 to 1987. Baldrige was a strong proponent of quality management at U.S. firms, so he helped draft the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Improvement Act. As a result of his efforts, Congress named the award in his honor.

Several Malcolm Baldrige quality awards may be given annually to manufacturing companies, service companies, small and large businesses, education organizations, health care organizations, and nonprofit organizations. Furthermore, the purpose of the Baldrige award is to raise awareness of quality management among consumers. It also motivates U.S. companies and organizations to raise their quality standards and strive for excellence in quality improvement and management.

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Criteria

Each year many companies apply for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the winners are chosen based on seven criteria. The criteria are leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; human resource focus; process management; and results.

Baldrige Criteria

Baldrige criteria includes the following:
1. Leadership
2. Strategic planning
3. Customer and market focus
4. Measurement, analysis, and knowledge management
5. Workforce focus
6. Process Management
7. Results

Baldrige National Quality Program and Baldridge Award Winners

For more information on the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Program and to see a list of firms and organizations that are Baldrige award winners, go to:
If you want to learn more financial leadership skills, then download the free 7 Habits of Highly Effective CFOs.
Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

[box]Strategic CFO Lab Member Extra
Access your Flash Report Execution Plan in SCFO Lab. The step-by-step plan to manage your company before your financial statements are prepared.
Click here to access your Execution Plan. Not a Lab Member?
Click here to learn more about SCFO Labs[/box]

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award


The Struggles of Private Company Accounting

Hiring the right accountant  When I meet a business owner operating at a successful $10 million in revenue, they often mention, “My CPA”… I immediately know that CEO/Entrepreneur is referring to their Tax CPA.  That is because one thing that all Entrepreneurs have in common is that they must file a tax return.  So, from

Read More »


Friend of the firm, Birgit Kamps, recently had Strategic CFO President, Dan Corredor, as a guest on her podcast, CEO Blindspots. CEO BLINDSPOTS HOST: Birgit Kamps. She was speaking five languages by the age of 10, and lived in five countries with her Dutch parents prior to becoming an American citizen. Birgit’s professional experience includes starting

Read More »

SHRM calls ICHRA the 401K for Group Health Benefits

Fed-up with group health insurance? ICHRA is the new way to offer great health benefits and avoid ACA penalties, SHRM calls it the 401K for group health benefits.  In 2020 the Department of Labor, HHS and IRS changed the rules for employer health benefits. They changed the Affordable Care Act mandates and penalties for every

Read More »


Financial Leadership Workshop

MARCH 28TH-31ST 2022



Strategic CFO™ Financial Leadership Workshop
The Art of the CFO®


September 12-15th 2022